Where do we come from? Where does our path lead?

Future needs background. Embark on the search for clues in our detailed Company History.

The future can best be predicted if you design it yourself.
Alan Curtis Kay
A realization of today can be the daughter of a mistake of yesterday.
Marie von Ebner-Eschenbach
If you want to read in the future, you have to scroll in the past.
André Malraux
The freedom of fantasy is not an escape into the unreal; it is boldness and invention.
Eugène Ionesco
2019

Fit for future!

We look into the future with optimism thanks to efficient employees, diligence and creativity under a solid technical and commercial leadership. We make investments in the areas of digitalization of production processes (robotics) and administration.

2018

Project business is booming

Large plant construction projects (low-voltage distribution, process automation, VOEST) and special series of complex housings with electrical equipment were successfully implemented.

2017

Farewell

We bid farewell to Ing. Anton Steinbacher (23.9.1928 - 7.5.2017), who shaped the company with his pioneering spirit and was active in the company until the very end.

» read more

2016/17

Ready for 5G

We are expanding our product range with microtubes for fiber optic cables, shafts and components for broadband expansion. We achieve record sales thanks to our diverse product range, expansion and optimization of storage capacities.

» read more

2013 - 2015

Site concentration

At the Wieden site a 2000 m² new production hall and an associated office building are built. The planning and construction coordination takes place in-house. In 2015 the relocation can be completed. In the old building in the village the electroplating is still in operation, the premises serve as a warehouse and archive.

» read more

2011

Surface technology state-of-the-art

With the new construction of Hall 2 (2500 m²) a modern powder coating system for aluminum and steel is put into operation. The purchase of a large format stamping nibbling center and new welding tables increases efficiency.

2010

New customers and product development

We win many new customers and can deliver promptly through our unusually large warehouse. New developments for Asfinag such as access point cabinets, OpenWis winter service slipperiness detection systems, fuel cell cabinets with solar panels and IR-checkpoints enable us to enter the market in new areas.

2007

Reaction to market conditions

We close the detail business with electrical appliances due to lack of customer frequency. The area of ​​electrical installation will be reduced in favor of mass production of distributors.

2003 - 2006

Extension of wholesale assortment

Increased involvement in the expansion of the wholesale program and the acquisition of various agencies result in a 40% increase in sales. New product groups in the field of distribution of electrical energy such as chandeliers, lightning protection and overhead line material or tools such as pull-in systems contribute to the success. In-house developments for example plaster frames for full thermal insulation are attracting interest.

2000

Stroke of fate and appeals to stand firm

The cancer disease of Julia Steinbacher (1990-2002) to change the Millennium burdened the commitment in the company and put expansion plans on hold. Three-year struggle with chemos, many operations, liver transplantation by living donation from the father bring no lasting success.

1998/99

Computer networking in all areas

In 1998 the old residential building dating from 1894 was completely renovated and integrated into the company premises. One year later the new ERP system ProAlpha is introduced. International trade fair participations including Göteborg, Hannover, Prague, Munich and Vienna increase our profile in the market.

1996

First cut of the spade at Wieden

On 1.6.1995 after the acquisition of the 30,000 m² site on the outskirts, the groundbreaking ceremony for a new production site can take place. One year later on 1.6.1996 hall 1 with an area of ​​2500 m² is put into operation and the work in the areas of sheet metal working, plastic injection molding and tool making can be started.

1994

Setting the course

This year the acquisition of the company shares of the family Schweighofer by family Steinbacher and the purchase of a 3-hectare site outside the village take place. The company now operates under the name Steinbacher Energie. At the same time we are successfully completing the ISO 9001 qualification procedure, making us one of the first 300 companies in Austria to have this certificate.

1992/93

Remodeling of the office

New processes require new framework conditions. That's why we are adding a modern office wing to the factory building, where many new employees from the fields of engineering and administration find ideal working conditions.

1988

3rd generation change

Ing. Helmut and Ing. Martina Steinbacher take over the management and organize the processes with the introduction of a computerized system. Illustrated product catalogs are improved and professional marketing is built up. Ing. Anton Steinbacher sen. continues to lead the technical departement. At the end of 1988 the location Dorf was extended by the installation of a final assembly for the booming KVS business.

1980er

New products and sales network development

Ing. Helmut Steinbacher is increasingly dedicated to sales agendas and draws first sales experience in the marketing of the in-house developed tennis ball throwing machine Serviceboy. In the long term we focus on the core business of distributors and special equipment: electrical equipment for cable cars (Schlossalm, Grießenkareck, Rüfikopf, Kanzelwand ...), electricians for snowmaking systems, power plant technology, switch cabinets for a Schmitz reversing mill (2500 kVA) with thyristor feeders, switchgear for a fully automated 550kVA small power plant, temperature controls for gas pipeline Siberia-Germany and so on.

1983

Stroke of fate for Schweighofer family

Ing. Franz Schweighofer (1932-1983) died unexpectedly in 1983 and Ing. Helmut Steinbacher takes over his sales agendas. His wife Eleonore (1925-1995) retires and does the accounting. Widow and daughter remain as shareholders. The Seniors Steinbacher try to compensate for the loss.

1977

OHG turns into GmbH

The corporate form is converted from OHG to GmbH and expanded by a new shareholder when Ing. Helmut Steinbacher (HTL graduate) joins the family business on 1.2.1977.

1970er

Start-up production in a wide variety

Meanwhile there is a wide range of products with a broad customer base: electrical equipment for iron and steel industry such as 10 MVA power station, electron beam welding machines, shuttle kilns, bell annealers, stranding machines, aircraft test stands, frequency and DC converters, tropical-type starting units, Oscilloscopes, custom printed circuit boards, row and tool cabinets, garden furniture and much more.

1971

Expansion of family seat to production site

The newly acquired neighboring property is used to build offices, a detail shop and a production hall. Plastic coating and electroplating are established as new processes. We celebrate the 50th anniversary as an independent electrician with 40 employees in a family structure.

1960er

2nd generation change - product development of distribution cabinets

Ing. Anton Steinbacher jun. builds high-tech facilities such as aircraft test benches and begins manufacturing cable distribution cabinets. In 1963 he takes over the company with his wife Ottilie (1928), his sister Eleonore and their spouse Ing. Franz Schweighofer. The core business is shifting from electrical installation and repair business to a diversified manufacturing company.

1950er

Business field change - optimistic mood

Recovery by Anton Steinbacher jun. with overhead line construction, milking machines, bicycle, motorcycle and automotive mechanics. Production of cooking and heating ovens, steel bunkers and hack grinders.

1928 - 1945

Weltwirtschaftskrise und Zweiter Weltkrieg

Innovative from the beginning Anton Steinbacher sen. pushes on with the electrification and mechanization of the entire region. A rigid policy of cutbacks and flexible business dealings in the electronics area and repair services enable the family to secure a living and train the three children in the areas of technology and business.

1914 - 1921

Company foundation electrical engineering

In 1914 the sons Friedrich, master builder (1887-1971), and Anton Steinbacher, master mechanic (1891 - 1966), joined the company and employ 45 people. In 1921 the field of electrical engineering (= today's Steinbacher Energie GmbH) splits off and is run as an independent company in Dorf 8 ("Haus an der Brucken", built in 1648).

1894

Founding steam sawmill and electric plant

Michael Steinbacher (1864 - 1931) founds a carpentry company with a construction business and steam sawmill in Hollenstein an der Ybbs am Zimmerplatz. In 1907 and 1908 he secured the light and power supply of Großhollenstein by means of two dynamos of 8 kW DC with 230 V.

Woher kommen wir? Wohin gehen wir?

Zukunft braucht Herkunft. Begeben Sie sich auf Spurensuche in unserer detaillierten Firmenchronik.

Die Zukunft kann man am besten voraussagen, wenn man sie selbst gestaltet.
Alan Curtis Kay
Eine Erkenntnis von heute kann die Tochter eines Irrtums von gestern sein.
Marie von Ebner-Eschenbach
Wer in der Zukunft lesen will, muss in der Vergangenheit blättern.
André Malraux
Die Freiheit der Phantasie ist keine Flucht in das Unwirkliche; sie ist Kühnheit und Erfindung.
Eugène Ionesco
2019

Fit für die Zukunft!

Wir blicken optimistisch in die Zukunft dank tüchtiger Mitarbeiter/innen, Fleiß, Kreativität unter fundierter technischer und kaufmännischer Führung. Investitionen tätigen wir in den Bereichen Digitalisierung der Produktionsprozesse (Robotik) und Verwaltung.

2018

Projektgeschäft boomt

Große Anlagenbauprojekte (Niederspannungsverteilung, Prozessautomatisierung, VOEST) und Sonderserien komplexer Gehäuse mit elektrischer Ausstattung wurden erfolgreich realisiert.

2017

Abschied

Wir nehmen Abschied von Ing. Anton Steinbacher (23.9.1928 - 7.5.2017), der mit seinem Pioniergeist das Unternehmen prägte und bis zuletzt im Betrieb aktiv war.

» weiterlesen

2016/17

Bereit für 5G

Wir erweitern unser Lieferprogramm um Microrohre für Glasfaserkabel, Schächte und Komponenten für den Breitbandausbau. Durch unser vielfältiges Produktprogramm sowie Ausbau und Optimierung der Lagerkapazitäten erzielen wir einen Rekordumsatz.

» weiterlesen

2013 - 2015

Standortkonzentration

Am Standort Wieden werden eine 2000 m² große neue Produktionshalle und ein dazugehöriges Bürogebäude errichtet. Die Planung und Baukoordinierung erfolgt hausintern. 2015 kann die Übersiedlung abgeschlossen werden. Im Altgebäude im Dorf ist die Galvanik weiterhin in Betrieb, die Räumlichkeiten dienen als Lager und Archiv.

» weiterlesen

2011

Oberflächentechnik auf modernstem Stand

Mit dem Neubau der Halle 2 (2500 m²) wird auch eine moderne Pulverbeschichtungsanlage für Alu und Stahl in Betrieb genommen. Die Anschaffung eines Großformat-Stanz-Nibbelzentrums und neuer Schweißtische steigern die Effizienz.

2010

Neukunden und Produktentwicklung

Wir gewinnen viele Neukunden und können durch unser ungewöhnlich großes Lager prompt liefern. Neuentwicklungen für Asfinag wie Access Point Schränke, OpenWis Winterdienst Glättemeldeanlagen, Brennstoffzellenschränke mit Solarpaneel und IR-Checkpoints ermöglichen uns den Markteintritt in neue Bereiche.

2007

Reaktion auf Marktgegebenheiten

Wir schließen das Detailgeschäft mit Elektrogeräten mangels Kundenfrequenz. Der Bereich Elektroinstallation wird zugunsten der Serienproduktion von Verteilern zurückgefahren.

2003 - 2006

Erweiterung Großhandelssortiment

Verstärktes Engagement beim Ausbau des Großhandelsprogramms und Übernahme diverser Vertretungen resultieren in 40%-Umsatzsteigerung. Neue Produktgruppen im Bereich Verteilung elektrischer Energie wie Künetten-, Blitzschutz- und Freileitungsmaterial bzw. Werkzeuge wie Einziehsysteme tragen zum Erfolg bei. Eigenentwicklungen wie Putzrahmen für Vollwärmeschutz stoßen auf Interesse.

2000

Schicksalsschlag und Durchhalteparolen

Die Krebserkrankung von Julia Steinbacher (1990-2002) zum Milleniumswechsel belastet das Engagement im Unternehmen und legt Ausbaupläne auf Eis. Dreijähriger Kampf mit Chemos, viele Operationen, Lebertransplantation durch Lebendspende vom Vater bringen leider keinen dauerhaften Erfolg.

1998/99

EDV-Vernetzung in allen Bereichen

1998 wird der alte Wohntrakt aus dem Jahr 1894 komplett saniert und in die Firmenräumlichkeiten eingegliedert. Ein Jahr später erfolgt die Einführung des neuen ERP-Systems ProAlpha. Internationale Messebeteiligungen u. a. in Göteborg, Hannover, Prag, München und Wien steigern unsere Bekanntheit am Markt.

1996

Spatenstich Betriebsgebiet Wieden

Am 1.6.1995 kann nach Erwerb des 30 000 m² großen Areals am Ortsrand der Spatenstich zu einem neuen Produktionsstandort erfolgen. Ein Jahr später am 1.6.1996 geht Halle 1 mit einer Fläche von 2500 m² in Betrieb und die Arbeit in den Bereichen Blechbearbeitung, Kunststoffspritzguß und Werkzeugbau kann aufgenommen werden.

1994

Weichenstellung

In diesem Jahr erfolgt der Erwerb der Firmenanteile der Familie Schweighofer durch Familie Steinbacher sowie der Ankauf eines 3 Hektar großen Betriebsareals außerhalb des Ortes. Das Unternehmen firmiert ab jetzt unter dem Namen Steinbacher Energie. Parallel dazu stellen wir uns erfolgreich dem ISO-9001-Qualifizierungsverfahren und sind damit unter den ersten 300 Betrieben Österreichs, die dieses Zertifikat vorweisen können.

1992/93

Umgestaltung des Büros

Neue Abläufe erfordern neue Rahmenbedingungen. Darum stocken wir das Betriebsgebäude mit einem modernen Bürotrakt auf, in dem auch viele neue Mitarbeiter/innen aus Technik und Verwaltung ideale Arbeitsbedingungen finden.

1988

3. Generationswechsel

Ing. Helmut und Ing. Martina Steinbacher übernehmen die Geschäftsführung und organisieren mit der Einführung eines EDV-Systems die Abläufe neu. Illustrierte Produktkataloge werden verbessert und ein professionelles Marketing aufgebaut. Ing. Anton Steinbacher sen. leitet weiterhin die Technik. Ende 1988 wird der Standort Dorf um den Zubau einer Endmontage für das boomende KVS-Geschäft erweitert.

1980er

Neuentwicklungen und Vertriebsnetzaufbau

Ing. Helmut Steinbacher widmet sich verstärkt Verkaufsagenden und schöpft erste Vertriebserfahrungen in der Vermarktung der inhouse-entwickelten Tennisballwurfmaschine Serviceboy. Langfristig fokussieren wir uns auf das Kerngeschäft der Verteiler und den Sonderanlagenbau: Elektroausrüstungen für Seilbahnanlagen (Schlossalm, Grießenkareck, Rüfikopf, Kanzelwand ...), Elektranten für Beschneiungsanlagen, Kraftwerkstechnik, Schaltschränke für ein Schmitz-Reversierwalzwerk (2500 kVA) mit Thyristoreinspeisungen, Schaltanlagen für ein vollautomatisiertes 550kVA-Kleinkraftwerk, Temperaturregelungen für Gaspipeline Sibirien-Deutschland usw.

1983

Schicksalsschlag der Familie Schweighofer

1983 stirbt überraschend Ing. Franz Schweighofer (1932-1983) und Ing. Helmut Steinbacher übernimmt seine Vertriebsagenden. Seine Frau Eleonore (1925-1995) geht in Pension und erledigt nebenbei noch die Bilanzierung. Witwe und Tochter verbleiben als Gesellschafter. Die Seniors Steinbacher versuchen den Ausfall zu kompensieren.

1977

Aus OHG wird GmbH

Die Gesellschaftsform wird von OHG in GmbH umgewandelt und mit dem Eintritt von Ing. Helmut Steinbacher (HTL-Absolvent) ins Familienunternehmen am 1.2.1977 um einen neuen Gesellschafter erweitert.

1970er

Start-up-Fertigungen in breiter Vielfalt

Mittlerweile existiert eine große Fertigungspalette mit breitem Kundenstock: Elektrische Einrichtungen für die Eisen- und Stahlindustrie wie Kraftwerks-Hauptschaltpulte mit 10 MVA, Elektroausrüstungen für Elektronenstrahlschweißmaschinen, Herdwagenöfen, Haubenglühanlagen, Pulte für Verseilmaschinen, Prüfstände für Luftfahrzeuge, Frequenz- und Gleichstromumformer, Startaggregate in Tropenausführung, Oszilloskope, eigene Printplatten, Reihen- und Werkzeugschränke, Gartenmöbel usw.

1971

Ausbau des Familiensitzes zur Produktionsstätte

Am neu erworbenen Nachbargrundstück werden Büros, Detailgeschäft und Fertigungshalle errichtet. Kunststoffbeschichtung und Galvanik werden als neue Prozesse etabliert. Wir feiern das 50-Jahr-Jubiläum als eigenständiger Elektrobauer mit 40 Mitarbeiter/innen in familiärer Struktur.

1960er

2. Generationswechsel - Produktentwicklung Verteiler

Ing. Anton Steinbacher jun. baut hochtechnische Anlagen wie Flugzeugprüfstände und beginnt mit der Fertigung von Kabelverteilerschränken. 1963 übernimmt er mit seiner Frau Ottilie (1928), seiner Schwester Eleonore und deren Gatten Ing. Franz Schweighofer das Unternehmen. Das Kerngeschäft verlagert sich vom Elektroinstallations- und Reparaturbetrieb zum Fertigungsunternehmen mit breiter Vielfalt.

1950er

Geschäftsfeldänderung - Aufbruchsstimmung

Wiederaufbau durch Anton Steinbacher jun. mit Freileitungsbau, Melkmaschinen, Fahrrad-, Motorrad- und KFZ-Mechanik. Herstellung von Koch- und Heizöfen, Stahl-Bunkern und Hacken-Schleifmaschinen.

1928 - 1945

Weltwirtschaftskrise und Zweiter Weltkrieg

Innovativ von Anbeginn treibt Anton Steinbacher sen. die Elektrifizierung und Mechanisierung der ganzen Region voran. Ein rigider Sparkurs und flexible Geschäftsgebahrung in den Bereichen Elektro und Reparatur ermöglichen der mittlerweile fünfköpfigen Familie ein Auskommen und die Ausbildung der drei Kinder in den Bereichen Technik und Wirtschaft.

1914 - 1921

Unternehmensgründung Elektrobau

Im Jahr 1914 treten die Söhne Friedrich, Baumeister (1887-1971), und Anton Steinbacher, Mechanikermeister (1891 - 1966), in die Firma ein und beschäftigen 45 Mitarbeiter. 1921 spaltet sich der Bereich Elektrotechnik (= heutige Steinbacher Energie GmbH) ab und wird als eigenständiges Unternehmen in Dorf 8 ("Haus an der Brucken", Baujahr 1648) von Anton Steinbacher geführt.

1894

Gründung Dampfsägewerk und E-Werk

Michael Steinbacher (1864 - 1931) gründet einen Zimmermeisterbetrieb mit Baugeschäft und Dampfsägewerk in Hollenstein an der Ybbs am Zimmerplatz. 1907 und 1908 stellt er mittels zweier Dynamomaschinen zu je 8 kW Gleichstrom mit 230 V für die „Licht- und Kraftstrom-Versorgung“ von Großhollenstein zur Verfügung.